Committees and Groups

Professional Development Planning Committee

This page includes a list of the different Professional Learning Committees and ongoing opportunities at Cañada College.

2023-24 Members


  • Jacky Ip - CSEA/Classified Representative
  • Ellen Young, Faculty Flex Day Coordinator
  • Anniqua Rana - Co-Chair, Dean, ASLT Division

Kiran Malavade, Faculty Representative

Aricka Bueno - Faculty Representative/Counseling

Alessandra Zanassi - Classified Representative

Yamini Prasad - ASCC Student Representative


  • Provides input and feedback on the College Professional Learning Plan
  • Sets and assesses campus-wide professional learning goals
  • Determines campus-wide professional learning needs through a needs assessment
  • Plans themes and activities (including Flex Days) according to the campus-wide professional learning plan and employee needs
  • Evaluate professional learning activities based on participant feedback
  • Collaborate with other on-campus professional development groups
  • Identify additional tasks and responsibilities related to professional learning


Spring 2024 PDPC Meetings 2nd Tuesdays, 12:30-1:30 pm (online and in 13-337)

  • 1/16/2024
  • 2/13/2024
  • 3/12/2024
  • 4/9/2024
  • 5/14/2024


Participatory Governance committee assignments:

PBC Chairs, Cabinet, and ASCC advisors appoint representatives from respective areas (2 faculty, 2 staff, 1 administrator and 1-2 students)

Faculty Professional Development Committee

Salumeh Eslamieh - Committee Chair - English Faculty

Sarita Santos - Academic Senate appointee

Nathan Staples - AFT appointee

Monica Malamud - AFT appointee

Ameer Thompson - Dean of Science and Technology

  • Allocates faculty professional development funds to faculty for conference and workshop opportunities
  • Determines application and approval processes for faculty to request PD funds for attending conferences and workshops
  • Reviews faculty conference and workshop PD applications
Academic Senate and AFT                      

Classified Professional Development Committee

Mayra Arellano - Director of High School Transition & Dual Enrollment, VPSS

Rance Bobo - Program Services Coordinator, STEM Center, Science & Technology

Ariela Villalpando - Program Services Coordinator,  Promise Scholars Program, VPSS

Jamie Hui - CSEA Representative

Alex Claxton - Classified Senate President

  • Allocates Classified Staff professional development funds to Classified Staff for conference and workshop opportunities and Cañada tuition reimbursement (this is different from the district-level tuition reimbursement)
  • Determines application and approval processes for Classified Staff to request PD funds for attending conferences and workshops and tuition reimbursements
  • Coordinates application and approval processes with district and local guidelines
  • Reviews Classified Staff conference and workshop PD applications
Classified Senate and CSEA