President's Student Leadership Award

Each year, the President’s Student Leadership Award is presented to a graduating student for exemplary leadership and scholarship. The recipient is selected from nominations received from faculty, staff and students of the Cañada community.

Jaime Andres Dubeibe Fong

Jaime Andres Dubeibe Fong
2023 President’s Student Leadership Award Recipient

Jaime Andres Dubeibe Fong is an international student born in Venezuela. He enrolled in Cañada College in the Fall of 2021 as an International online student and joined our community in the Spring of 2022. He received his Associate for Transfer Degree in Economics and will transfer to the University of California, Irvine to pursue a Bachelor's Degree in Business Economics in Fall 2023. During his time at Cañada College, Jaime has been involved in a number of events and organizations such as the Associated Students of Cañada College. He started as a Senator at Large for Business Design and Workforce and later ran for the position of Vice President, serving through the Spring 2023 semester. He also dedicated his time to helping students during his time in the Cañada College Library where he worked as a Student Assistant. Through organizing events and in his role as a student leader, Jaime helped bring life into the campus and created initiatives that supported the needs of students. Such was the case of the transportation initiative where Jaime worked as editor and speaker to patrons at the President’s Luncheon where he advocated for transportation assistance for students. He led campus-wide events such as Constitution Day, National Coming Out Day, Disability Awareness and the Student Leadership Awards themed around the Cherry Blossom Festival. Jaime wouldn’t have been able to make it up to this point without the help and support of his friends: Louis Tang, Jimmy Kim, Chloe Knott, Vijeet Upadhyay, Bimara Mendez and Francesca Re Fraschini. He is also grateful for the support of his family and advisors: Paul Gaskins, Carlos Luna, Tessa Noriega and Dr. Michiko Kealoha.

International Student

Past President's Leadership Award Recipients

  • 2022 Jirou (Bella) Zhang
  • 2019 Christopher Jimenez
  • 2018 Travis McIntosh
  • 2017 Andrea Chlarson Johnson
  • 2016 Jessica Susan Rose
  • 2015 Sarahi Salamanca Espinoza
  • 2014 Nikita Michelson
  • 2013 Doris Vargas
  • 2012 Tristan Sheldon
  • 2011 Xochitl Rios
  • 2010 Violeta Crow
  • 2009 Ashley Cohen and Alex Maldonado-Garcia
  • 2008 Noel Chavez