

PLANNING AND BUDGETING COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA Wednesday, May 15, 2024

In-person Meeting Location: Building 9 Room 257A

and via Zoom: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/83846328550

MEETING TIME: 2:10 - 4:00 p.m.

AGENDA ITEM	PRESENTER	PROCESS	TIME
Welcome and Introductions • Establish Quorum	David Eck and Maria Huning PBC Co-Chairs	Quorum	5

CONSENT AGENDA

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the PBC members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for PBC member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any PBC member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

- Approval of Minutes of Prior PBC Meeting
- Board-approved staffing update

REGULAR AGENDA

11200211111211	·		
California State Budget - May Revise and Proposed 2024-25 College Budget	Ludmila Prisecar, VPAS	Information Q&A	15 5
Approved Resource Requests from 2023-24 Program Review Cycle	Ludmila Prisecar, VPAS	Information Q&A	10 5
Drop for Non-Payment Recommendation Update	Wissem Bennani, Dean of Enrollment and Student Support Services	Information	10
Potential Impacts Summer and Fall Enrollments (e.g., FAFSA, Fraudulent Enrollments/Bots)	Manuel Alejandro Pérez, VPSS Wissem Bennani, Dean of Enrollment and Student Support Services	Information Discussion	7 8
PBC Bylaw Update Action: Adopt recommended changes to the PBC Bylaws	PBC Bylaw Update Task Force: David Eck, Maria Huning, Alicia Aguirre, Karen Engel	Discussion Action	10 5
Detailed Timeline for Preparation of the Institutional Self Evaluation Report (ISER) for 2024-25 Action: Adopt recommended detailed timeline for preparing the ISER for ACCJC in 2024 and 2025	Karen Engel, Dean of PRIE and Accreditation Liaison Officer Diana Tedone-Goldstone, Faculty Accreditation Lead	Information Q&A Action	5 5 5

EMP 2.9 Bias Response Updates on Focus Groups and Planned Timeline for Summer and Fall	Members of EMP 2.9 Workgroup: Michiko Kealoha, Dave Eck, Arya Shadan, Lezlee Ware, Manuel Alejandro Pérez, Max Hartman, Mwanaisha Sims	Information Discussion	10 5
Summer Leadership Retreat: August 8, 2024	PBC Co-Chairs: David Eck and Maria Huning	Information	5

STANDING ITEMS			
Associated Students (ASCC)	ASCC Representative	Information	2
Classified Senate of Cañada College	Maria Huning	Information	2
Academic Senate of Cañada College	David Eck	Information	2
Planning Council Reports	IPC, SSPC representatives	Information	2
President's Update	Kim Lopez, President	Information	5
Matters of Public Interest and Upcoming Events	Open to all	Information	5
ADJOURNI CO			

ADJOURN: Our next meeting will be on September 4, 2024 HAPPY SUMMER!

PBC Membership 2023-2024	Member
Academic Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)	David Eck
Classified Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)	Maria Huning
Academic Support and Learning Technologies Faculty Representative	Julian Taylor
Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance Faculty Representative	Nick Carr
Business, Design & Workforce Division Faculty Representative	Sarita Santos
Humanities & Social Sciences Division Faculty Representative	Alicia Aguirre
Science & Technology Division Faculty Representative	Ray Lapuz
Student Services Faculty Representative	Kassie Alexander
Adjunct or FT Faculty Representative at large	Denise Erickson
Classified Representative	Gina Hooper
Classified Representative	RoseMarie Mendoza Morrison
Classified Representative	Jacky Ip
Classified Representative	John Omar
Classified Representative	Joan Murphy
Classified Representative at large	Christopher Wardell
ASCC Student Representative	Mia Berta
ASCC Student Representative	Arman Eshraghi
IPC Representative	Diana Tedone-Goldstone
SSPC Representative	Mayra Arellano
Dean	Hyla Lacefield
Dean of Planning, Research, Innovation & Effectiveness (ex officio)	Karen Engel
Director of Marketing & Community Relations (ex officio)	Megan Rodriguez-Antone
Vice President of Instruction (ex officio)	Chialin Hsieh
Vice President of Student Services (ex officio)	Manuel Alejandro Perez
Vice President of Administrative Services (ex officio)	Ludmila Prisecar
College President (ex officio, non-voting)	Kim Lopez