CHAPTER 8: Business Operations BOARD POLICY NO. X.XX

BOARD POLICY

San Mateo County Community College District

Subject:BP XX.XX Non-Resident Tuition Waiver EligibilityRevision Date:XXXXPolicy References:CA Education Code Section(s) 68000, 68130.5, 76140, 76140.5

As set out in California Education Code <u>CA Ed Code 76140</u>: "(a) A community college district may admit, and shall charge a tuition fee to, nonresident students, except that a community college district may exempt from all or parts of the fee any person described in paragraph (1), (2), (3), or (6), and shall exempt from all of the fee any person described in paragraph (4) or (5):

(1) All nonresidents who enroll for six or fewer units. Exemptions made pursuant to this paragraph shall not be made on an individual basis."

Per the permissive exemptions allowed by Education Code Sections 76140 and 76140.5, the Board of Trustees of the San Mateo County Community College District establishes the following criteria for the waiver of non-resident tuition:

1. Nonresident students enrolling for 6 or fewer units will have their non-resident tuition fee waived if they meet the following criteria:

- 1. Have a permanent address in San Mateo County AND
 - a. Permanence in the county shall be established following standards set forth in CA Ed Code Sections 68000-70902 Uniform Student Residency Requirements applied to residency in San Mateo County specifically.
- 2. Students working toward eligibility for AB540 status as defined by <u>CA ED Code 68130.5</u>:

"(a) A student, other than a nonimmigrant alien within the meaning of paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of Title 8 of the United States Code, shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition at the California State University and the California Community Colleges if the student meets all of the following requirements:

(1) Satisfaction of the requirements of either subparagraph (A) or subparagraph (B):

(A) A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:
(i) California high schools.

(ii) California high schools established by the State Board of Education. (iii) California adult schools established by any of the following entities:
(I) A county office of education.
(II) A unified school district or high school district.
(III) The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.
(iv) Campuses of the California Community Colleges.
(v) A combination of those schools set forth in clauses
(i) to (iv), inclusive."

2. All students who qualify for the non-resident tuition fee waiver will also qualify for the waiver of the Capital Outlay Fee.