## **Cañada College Academic Senate**

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

2:10pm - 4:00pm

Zoom Link: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/84174625171

## Agenda 09/23/2021

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	<ul> <li>Call to Order</li> <li>Happy Latinx Heritage Month!</li> <li>See Canadacollege.edu/lhm for upcoming events.</li> </ul>	Eck		Procedure
2	Introductions	Eck	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Eck	1	Action
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Eck	1	Action

## **Consent Agenda**

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

- 5.1 Minutes 09/09/2021
- 5.2 Update to Ramikrishnan Kalyanaraman Tenure Evaluation Committee, Engineering, (3<sup>rd</sup> year)
  - Dean: Ameer Thompson
  - Four-year: Evan Innerst [now chair of the committee]
  - Four-year (Discipline Expert): Nick Langhoff [No longer chair of the committee]
  - Two-year: David Monarres

5.3	Michael Limm Tenure Evaluation Committee, Biology (1st year)				
	Dean: Ameer Thompson     Town years Days Hissal (aboin and dissipling average)				
	Four-year: Doug Hirzel (chair and discipline expert)  - Four-year: Nether Stanler  - Four-year: Ne				
	Four-year: Nathan Staples     Two years Sumathi Shaples				
	Two-year: Sumathi Shankar				
5.4	Instructional Planning Council (IPC) Faculty Membership				
	Curriculum Committee Chair: Lisa Palmer				
	Faculty Assessment Coordinator: Jessica Kaven (IPC Co-chair. Term ends Spring 20)				
	Honors Coordinator: Susan Mahoney				
	ACES Coordinator: Alison Field				
	Librarian: Diana Tedone-Goldstone (term ends Spring 2023)				
	Two faculty Members At-Large: Katie Perkins (term ends 2022) and Jill Sumstad				
	(term ends Spring 2022)				
	Courseless viceout /TRD				
	Counselor: vacant/TBD				
5.5	Student Services Planning Council Representatives				
	Counselor: Aricka Bueno				
	Instructional faculty: vacant/TBD				
5.6	Textbook Affordability Subcommittee Membership				
	OER/ZTC Coordinator: Sarah Harmon				
	Distance Education Coordinator: Nick DeMello				
	Librarian: Diana Tedone-Goldstone				
	ASLT Representative: Valeria Estrada				
	Humanities and Social Sciences Representative: Lisa Palmer (filling vacancy)				
	Science and Technology Representative: Ramki Kalyanaraman				
	Business, Design, and Workforce Representative: vacant				
	Counseling Representative: vacant				
	Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance Representative: vacant				
5.7	ASCCC Fall Plenary Registration Fee				
] 3.,	Natalie Alizaga - \$325				
	Natane Milaga - 2323				
5.8	ASCCC Fall Plenary Registration Fee				
	Daryan Chan - \$325				
5.9	ASCCC Fall Plenary Registration Fee				

	- Coverde Deshare (225				
	Gerardo Pacheco - \$325				
Public (	Public Comment				
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information	
Regular	Reports				
7.1	President's Report	Eck	3	Information	
7.2	Treasurer's Report	Chan	2	Information	
7.3	Curriculum Committee	Palmer	5	Information	
7.4	Professional Development	Malamud	5	Information	
Senate Business					
8.1	<ul> <li>Academic Senate Orientation</li> <li>Academic Senate's Purview: the 10+1</li> <li>Collegial Consultation</li> <li>Title 5 versus Education Code</li> </ul>	Eck	10	Information	
8.2	Resource Prioritization Process in Program Review  • Participatory governance survey results showed adjunct faculty felt significantly disconnected from resource prioritization • Ideas for improving adjunct faculty input/participation?	Eck	5	Discussion	
8.3	District Academic Senate (DAS) Proposed Goals – Open for Comments/Proposed Revisions  Carry-Over DAS Goals from Last Year  1. Work with administrative and student leaders to scrutinize and	Eck & Alizaga	15	Discussion	

8.4	<ul> <li>4. Research a compressed academic calendar</li> <li>5. Implement a process for aligning curriculum across the District</li> <li>6. Continue to support faculty in responding to academic and professional matters in the current pandemic</li> <li>7. Work with the AFT to revise the short- and long-term professional development policies and processes</li> <li>Questions for Cañada Townhall <ul> <li>Townhall Details: October 15, 2:15-3:30pm</li> </ul> </li> <li>Please reach out to your</li> </ul>	Eck	5	
	revise the faculty hiring policies and procedures in order to promote equitable hiring practices and to diversify the District's professoriate  2. Work with the administration, students, and AFT to revise the faculty evaluation procedures in order to promote equity and justice for our students and colleagues  3. Develop and implement equity audits for policies and procedures that fall under the			

8.5	<ul> <li>Listening Session with Áse Power</li> <li>Consult         <ul> <li>Áse is assisting the college with an equity scan, as part of the College's Educational Master Planning process.</li> <li>This listening session will explore how Academic Senate/Faculty can help the college foster effective communication platforms, specific transparency frameworks, and inclusive practices.</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Moricette, Carpenter, and Keegan	50	Discussion	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Eck		Procedure	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

## Academic Senate for the 2021 - 2022 academic year:

President: David Eck; Vice President: Natalie Alizaga; Secretary: Gerardo Pacheco; Treasurer: Daryan Chan; Curriculum Committee: Lisa Palmer; Professional Development: Monica Malamud; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katherine Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Nick DeMello; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols; Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance: Bryan Jeong; ASLT: Diana Tedone-Goldstone; Student Services/Counseling: Nick Martin; Adjunct Representative: Richard Schulke