## **Cañada College Academic Senate**

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

2:10pm - 4:00pm

Zoom Link: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/84174625171

## Agenda 09/09/2021

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Eck		Procedure
2	Introductions	Eck	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Eck	1	
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Eck	1	

## **Consent Agenda**

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

Minutes 8/26/2021
<ul> <li>Candice Nance Appointment to Data and Research Task Force (DRTF)</li> <li>This is a statewide task force organized by ASCC in response to Resolution F20 18.01</li> <li>Resolution F20 18.01 Paper and Resources for Evaluating Placement in English, English as a Second Language, and Mathematics Pathways</li> </ul>
Jose Manzo Tenure Committee (1st year)  • Administrator: Max Hartman  • Chair: Sarah Aranyakul

	T			
	Chris Rico			
	Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez replaced by Alison Field			
5.4	Marcos Chacon Tenure Committee (1 <sup>st</sup> year)			
	Administrator: Dr. Bettina Lee			
	Chair: Jenna French			
	Ami Smith			
	Nick Martin			
5.5	Academic Senate Division Representatives			
	ASLT – Diana Tedone-Goldstone			
	BDW – Anne Nichols			
	Counseling/Student Services – Nick Martin			
	H&SS – Katie Schertle			
	KAD – Bryan Jeong			
	SciTech – Nick DeMello			
	Adjunct Representative – vacant/election in progress			
5.6	PBC Membership			
	ASLT — TBD			
	BDW – Peggy Perruccio			
	Counseling/Student Services – vacant			
	H&SS – Alicia Aguirre			
	• KAD – Nick Carr			
	• SciTech – Ray Lapuz			
	Updated list in 7.0 below			
5.7	Educational Master Planning Taskforce Faculty Membership			
	BDW representative Leonor Cabrera			
	H&SS representative – Alicia Aguirre			
	KAD representative – Vera Quijano			
	Counseling representative — Jenna French  Linda and Michael Country (1997)  And Andrew Michael Country (1997)  And Andrew Michael Country (1997)  And Andrew Michael Country (1997)  Andrew Michael Country (1997)			
	Updated list in 7.01 below			
5.8	Student Services Planning Council Representatives			
	Counselor: Aricka Bueno			
	Instructional faculty: vacant/TBD			
5.9	District Committees			
	District Academic Senate: David Eck and Natalie Alizaga			
	<u> </u>			

	<ul> <li>District Committee on Budget and Finance: Daryan Chan</li> <li>District Participatory Governance Council: David Eck</li> </ul>				
5.10	Academic Senate Representative for Program Review Work Group  • Natalie Alizaga				
5.11	<ul> <li>Speaker Honorariums for Four Guest Lecturers in DANC 150 (Hip Hop Dance)</li> <li>Doc Lock/Sal Barcena - \$50</li> <li>Nikki Renojo - \$50</li> <li>Prince Ali/Alex Flores - \$50</li> <li>Power Serge/Sergio Suarez - \$50</li> <li>Professor Begley plans on advertising each guest lecturer to the campus community, making attendance possible via Zoom.</li> </ul>				
Public C	omment				
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information	
Senate I	Senate Business				
7.0	<ul> <li>PBC Membership</li> <li>ASLT – TBD</li> <li>BDW – Peggy Perruccio</li> <li>Counseling/Student Services –         Gloria Darafshi (filling vacancy)</li> <li>H&amp;SS – Alicia Aguirre</li> <li>KAD – Nick Carr</li> <li>SciTech – Ray Lapuz</li> </ul>	Eck	1	Action	
7.01	Educational Master Planning Taskforce Faculty Membership  BDW representative - Leonor Cabrera H&SS representative - Alicia Aguirre KAD representative - Eddy Harris (replacing Vera Quijano) Counseling representative - Jenna French	Eck	1	Action	

7.1	Culinary Dual Enrollment Program	Burger, Mollenauer, and Branch	15	Action
7.2	Faculty Appointment to the Financial Aid Director Hiring Committee  • Nadya Sigona now unable to serve on this committee  • Need a faculty representative to volunteer for this hiring committee	Bennani	5	Action
7.3	Q & A with Interim President Kim Lopez	Lopez	15	Discussion
7.4	Adjunct Representative for Academic Senate – Confirm Nominations and Candidate Statements  Individual applicants are welcome to speak  Application statement can also be read by Academic Senate officer or other person  Voting by adjunct faculty will end on Thursday, September 23.	Eck	12	Action
7.5	Annual Goals for Academic Senate	Eck	15	Action
7.6	<ul> <li>USC Equity Leadership Alliance</li> <li>Materials</li> <li>Links to the session materials and recordings</li> <li>Highlights from some of the sessions</li> <li>Ideas for how best to use the materials</li> </ul>	Alizaga	5	Information

7.7	Textbook Affordability Subcommittee Report  Info about creating line-item in College Budget for OER/ZTC	Harmon	10	Information, Discussion	
7.8	Academic Senate's Purview: the "10+1"	Eck	5	Information, Discussion	
Regula	Regular Reports				
8.1	President's report	Eck	5	Information	
8.2	Treasurer's report	Chan	5	Information	
8.3	Curriculum Committee	Palmer	5	Information	
8.4	Professional Development	Malamud	5	Information	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Tedone		Procedure	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

## Academic Senate for the 2021 – 2022 academic year:

President: David Eck; Vice President: Natalie Alizaga; Secretary: Gerardo Pacheco; Treasurer: Daryan Chan; Curriculum Committee: Lisa Palmer; Professional Development: Monica Malamud; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katherine Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Nick DeMello; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols; Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance: Bryan Jeong; ASLT: Diana Tedone-Goldstone; Student Services/Counseling: Nick Martin; Adjunct Representative: vacant/TBD