Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate

2:10pm – 4:00pm

Zoom Link: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/84174625171

Agenda 05/12/2022

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order	Eck		Procedure
	We acknowledge that Cañada College sits on the unceded ancestral homeland of the Muwekma Ohlone, Ramaytush Ohlone, and other Ohlone tribes, who are the original peoples of the San Francisco Peninsula. We recognize that we benefit from living and working on their traditional homeland, and we affirm their sovereign rights as first peoples. Happy Asian American and Pacific Islander			
	Heritage Month!			
2	Introductions	Eck	1	Information
3	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Eck	1	
4	Adoption of Agenda	Eck	1	

Consent Agenda

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

5.1	04/28/2022 Minutes			
5.2	 AB 361 – Renewal of Virtual Meeting Modality for Academic Senate This acknowledges our use of AB 361 that extends our ability to meet virtually as a Brown Act meeting, without having to post the address of our physical location Academic Senate passed a resolution to support the use of AB 361 to extend our virtual modalities If anyone would like to argue that Academic Senate should resume meeting in person, then simply request that this item be pulled from consent. From there, we would debate the matter. 			
5.3	 David Eck reimbursement for ASCC 2022 Spring Plenary - \$28 The \$28 is the remaining leftover from what Academic Senate's regular budget could not cover. 			
5.4	 Tentative, New Hire (2022), Ethnic Studies, 1st year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Malathi Iyengar, (Ethnic Studies, CSM) Four-year: Lezlee Ware (Political Science) Two-year: Jessica Kaven (Communication Studies) 			
5.5	 Kiran Malavade (2021), English, 2nd year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): <u>Yolanda Valenzuela (English)</u> [2022 Substitute for Doniella Maher, four-year member] Four-year: Elizabeth Terzakis (English) Two-year: Lisa Palmer (English) 			
Public Comment				
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda Public 5 Information items			

Senate I	Senate Business				
7.1	 Interim Vice President of Instruction Hiring Committee Seeking two faculty members to serve on the committee People who have expressed interested so far: Jessica Kaven Sarita Santos 	Eck	15	Action	
7.2	 Textbook Affordability Sub- Committee General Reminders Recruiting for committee membership for the next academic year 	Harmon	5	Information, Discussion	
7.3	 Summer Academic Senate Executive Committee Need at least two ASGC division reps from different divisions 	Eck	5	Action	
7.4	 Outstanding Staff and Faculty Awards Review of nominations Vote on staff, full-time faculty, and part-time faculty awards 	Eck & Alizaga	20	Action	
7.5	 Program Improvement and Viability Process Draft Update Link to current (Spring 2022) draft: Program Improvement and Viability Process 2022 DRAFT 6May2022 1.docx This draft was based on incorporating the Spring 2021 IPC feedback 	Tedone, Harmon, Palmer, & Eck	10	Information, Discussion	
7.6	 Review of Academic Senate Annual Goals Overview of progress made and unfinished work for next year 	Eck & Alizaga	15	Information, Discussion	

7.7	 District Academic Senate Work Group for Three Board Policies Related to Intellectual Property BP 3710 – Securing of Copyright BP 6.32 (3715) - Intellectual Property BP 6.33 (3750) - Use of Copyrighted Material More background: BP 6.32 and 6.33 are existing Board Policies that were up for review this Spring. At District Participatory Governance Council (DPGC) and based on feedback from Skyline College, it was determined that the three college Academic Senates should provide more substantial feedback before adopting any new changes. Current list of faculty concerns related the three (proposed or existing) Board Policies 	Eck & Alizaga	10	Information
7.8	 Contribution to Cañada Student Awards Review of students who have been nominated for the award. As a reminder, this is a recognition award rather than a single winner. We will vote to confirm the individuals who have been nominated for the award. 	Eck, Alizaga, & Chan	10	Action
Regular Reports				
8.1	 President's report Multi-Modal Classroom Observations: if you might be teaching multi-modal for the first time in the Fall, it is a very good idea to observe a current multi-modal class before the end of the semester. 	Eck	5	Information

	 360 Administrator Evaluations: Many of our Deans are being evaluated this semester. For those Deans, approximately twenty people have been selected to evaluate. These individuals were selected by the President in consultation with the relevant Vice President. 				
8.2	Treasurer's report	Chan	5	Information	
8.3	Curriculum Committee	Palmer	5	Information	
8.4	Professional Development	Malamud	5	Information	
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines					
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines				
10	Adjourn	Eck		Procedure	

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

Academic Senate for the 2021 – 2022 academic year:

President: David Eck; Vice President: Natalie Alizaga; Secretary: Gerardo Pacheco; Treasurer: Daryan Chan; Curriculum Committee: Lisa Palmer; Professional Development: Monica Malamud; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Katherine Schertle; Science and Technology Division: Nick DeMello; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols; Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance: Bryan Jeong; ASLT: Diana Tedone-Goldstone; Student Services/Counseling: Nick Martin; Adjunct Representative: Richard Schulke